Return to HSGI Woosatch Plate Carrier
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
great gear! February 18, 2013
Reviewer: roy stewart from lexington, NC United States  
extremely well made, highly adjustable, plenty of real estate for whatever you need to attach. if you're looking for a plate carrier that will meet most needs without breaking the bank, this is it! buy the shoulder pads and you're good to go.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Big guy friendly February 21, 2012
Reviewer: Ryan K from DFW, Tx  
im 6'5 330# and was worried about finding a plate carrier that fit me. This carrier fits and looks great, both the shoulder and side straps extend very far out. Quality is great, and shipping was very fast. couldnt be happier

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Carrier January 2, 2012
Reviewer: Stash from Omaha, NE United States  
Had this for a few months now, figured I'd post a review after using it a few times.  
The Pros: Lightweight, very sturdy construction, lots of webbing available, modular (can use as chest rig), large internal admin and map pouch on front, low profile.
Cons: Definitely get the shoulder pads, it's almost a must unless you're going to wear it over IBA/MTV.  It's easy to drop, but if you wear it snug it's somewhat difficult to fasten the side buckles in a hurry.

Overall a great carrier for the price.  No frills and nothing you don't need.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great carrier, just buy the shoulder pads June 14, 2011
Reviewer: Ron Clark from Moreauville, LA United States  
I only wear plates in my vest and don't use kevlar inserts, so my old armor carrier was bulky for nothing.  I got this one and it's a world of difference.  It breathes better, saves weight, and can be donned or dropped faster than most carriers/vests.  You can also drop your plates and quickly convert it to a chest rig.  The quality of material and craftsmanship is superior.  Only complaint is the shoulder pads are sold separately and make a big difference in comfort.  Overall one of best and not a bad price.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for saving weight, and mountain ops April 6, 2011
Reviewer: SSG E from Afghanistan  
I brought back this plate carrier from the states during my R&R.  We are always running around the mountains here, and at 7500ft+ with all these damn mountains, saving weight is a must.  If you buy this plate carrier, the improved shoulder pads are a must, the gel in them are super comfortable for a long days hump.  There is plenty of molle on the front and sides for a basic load of 5.56 or 7.62 (I've had it rigged for M4 and M14), a radio, a large utility pouch and other various equipment/pouches.  The back is the same story with plenty of molle for a hydration pouch, an antennae extender, and room for a few mag pouches for buddies, or more equipment for you.  It also fits comfortably under rucks, I've been using the Eberlestock FAC Track, and it's not uncomfortable at all.  Bottom line, THIS IS A GREAT PIECE OF GEAR.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Well tested and combat proven March 11, 2011
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from TX United States  
On returning from Afghanistan and wearing the Woosatch-E for my tour; it is a wonderful rig. I had the side plate carrier and it helps distribute the load of the plates and ammo better. That being said, the bulk of the load still fell on my shoulders and made it uncomfortable for very long patrols or when carrying my 800 round combat load for the SAW; the shoulder pads are a must. I wore all 4 rifle plates and plate backers, carried 800 rounds, 3 spare pistol mags, a smoke, and a star cluster and still had room for my hydration carrier, IFAK, NVG pouch, and an admin pouch.

The rig did well with heavy abrasions from climbing mud brick walls. I did have a few issues with the buckles holding the shoulder straps to the front panel becoming partially unsnapped when donning the armor quickly.

The MOLLE section across the bottom front gave me an advantage over those using the issue rig as I had more space for pouches and could mount them further to my reload side for easier access.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome carrier September 28, 2010
Reviewer: Chris from Atlanta, GA United States  
Super happy with this.  Vest came disassembled but was simple to do.  Adjustable lower strap makes it easy to adjust for wearing by itself or over my stripped IBA.  I can't find a thing wrong with the stitching, materials, or overall construction of this carrier.  Plenty of PALS all over, will be able to hold much more gear than I'll ever need.  Can't wait to break it in, and will definitely buy HSGI gear in the future...left this review at 4 stars only because nothing's ever perfect (although I can't find anything wrong yet).  Also, SKDTac got my order to me very quick...both companies have exceeded my expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Awesome Carrier 1 September 20, 2010
Reviewer: SSG US Army from Albuquerque, NM United States  
Awesome Carrier for the price! The pockets for both plates help keep them where they're supposed to be to give you maximum protection of the vital areas.  There's enough room to slip some soft armor in as well.  The molle webbing is strong and solid, and there's enough room on the front of mine (I have the "A" version, which has the same width cummerband as the Wasatch) for more than enough mission essential pouches.  I chose this model over the actual Wasatch or Weesatch, because the integrated mag pouches will cause the vest to slightly droop once you pull your mags out, and it won't fit correctly.  Any carrier should fit snug and sit high so the base of your neck is protected, not sit low and sag.  Only faults I found are not enough webbing in the back, and it's a little difficult to put on.  I put some thought into it tho and I can get it on and secure in less time than an IBA or IOTV.  HSGI, great product guys.  Get the shoulder pads, and invest in the side plate attachment!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
HSGI Woosatch Plate Carrier June 24, 2010
Reviewer: Wade from United States  
I ordered the HSGI Woosatch Plate Carrier to wear over my soft armor. It is perfect! I am able to keep the same MOLLE pouch setup that I am used to using with my issued gear. The velcro is very strong and when not using plates, has plenty room for additional storage. I ordered the HSGI Shoulder Pads as well and they are very comfortable and offer the support that you otherwise wouldn't have. The vest is well made and the materials used seem very durable. The one small and only complaint that I have is that the excess strap used to buckle the front and back together isn't secured, meaning that there is excess strap flopping around. My suggestion would be to modify it with some velcro (unless you don't mind using tape) to secure the excess to itself. The true test will be taking this piece of kit on a deployment to Afghanistan. Overall, this piece of kit is definitely worth the price, especially if you're not looking to spend upwards of $200-$300.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
HSGI Woosatch January 26, 2010
Reviewer: Xavier Delaney from Lakewood, WA United States  
i just got my rig  today and i must say its everything i wanted and more.  i also have the shoulder pads for this rig. im just waiting on the side plate carrier to come back in stock for i can wear this without my army issue OVT.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items